The books of The F.U.B.A.R. Saga grew as a result of Anthony wanting to finalize the back-story of Gryphon and his friends and enemies once and for all. He felt he didn't have time to redraw everything as a series of graphic novels again and decided it would be quicker just to write everything as novels instead.

Boy, was Anthony wrong.

But boy, did the books turn out great so far.

Here's a rundown of the five (correction: six) books and what to expect. Volpe plans on either submitting them to publishers before 2009 or having them printed himself. Stay tuned for details.


The Gryphon Chronicle

Set in the 38th century, "book zero" tells the back story of Gryphon, the main character of the entire F.U.B.A.R. Saga series. After discovering his father Tycho's plot to destroy the Earth by putting it directly into the path of a comet, Gryphon embarks on a brave mission to send him back to 1999 A.D. to obtain a weapon to stop the comet. Joining him is his robot assistant Chamber, his Martian girlfriend Holo, his goddess-like sister Nemesis, and her mysterious and somewhat uncooperative boyfriend, Oblivion.

Gryphon's mission is a doomed one, but it doesn't mean he and his friends won't try...



The story that started it all, F.U.B.A.R. is the retelling of the original 1990 graphic novel Anthony Volpe created while in college documenting a campus-wide war between the superheroes of Gryphon House and the party-animal rebels known as The Hoof.

Back inthe 21st century, Anna Boccella and her friends at the school newspaper are fighting an uphill battle with the college administration, led by the school's controller Judy Kilroy. It isn't until Anna meets up with a mysterious young superhero named Gryphon that she realizes her dream of finally fighting the corruption on her campus –by joining forces with him as a crimefighter. Taking the moniker Shades and donning a pin-striped suit, she joins Gryphon House, eventually recruiting several other students into their ranks such as the athletic ladies' man Jockman, her best friend Faith Lockwood (Ecstasy), and the fiercely loyal and high-strung heavy artillery man known as Devastator.

But there can't be a superhero without a super-villain, and sure enough, a student who Gryphon saved from a cafeteria accident that mutated him into a demi-human pig would become his arch-enemy. Pigman would go on to recruit his friends and align himself with Judy Kilroy for the purpose of destroying Gryphon House – and turning the campus into one gigantic party!


F.U.B.A.R. II: Kilroy Was Here

Book two of this series follows Gryphon House as they expand their ranks to include Stardust, Chamber, and Pigman's double-agent ex-girlfriend MaryJane to become a global crimefighting force. They thought they were done with Duncan University and the F.U.B.A.R. Bomb Incident once and for all. They were wrong. The increasingly influential Judy Kilroy got acquitted from her actions and lobbied to have Gryphon House branded as terrorists, making them among the most wanted "criminals" in the United States. She even went as far as to place rewards on their heads for their capture.

Worse, reports of one of Devastator's "dead" childhood friends have begun to surface. The Remover, apparently more than a mere urban legend, has been attacking young men on the campus who are connected in some way to Judy and her son, Josh. It isn't long before things reach a fever pitch and Gryphon House realizes it can no longer sit back and write it off as "not their problem," espcially when it begins to directly affect their friends and loved ones. Gryphon and the others realize they have a chance to put away Judy once and for all, especially when they discover her involvement with the Remover's "death."


F.U.B.A.R. III: The Messiah Project

Book three chronicles the rise of Team Mediocre, a new crimefighting force on Duncan University, led by a mysterious young student named Svetlana Kornychkova. As it turns out, Svetlana is the first Evolved, a Russian and Neo-Nazi experiment known as the Messiah Project, and Gryphon knows it. And he wants her to join Gryphon House.

And Gryphon needs all the help he can get, because a new enemy has surfaced – Oblivion?

Oblivion sees an opportunity to steal Gryphon's time machine and correct the tampering of history perpetuated by him. in doing so, Oblivion has torn Gryphon House in half, taking with him the members whose lives were "ruined" by Gryphon's actions and forming an alliance with The Remover and the Betty Poison clan.

And to make matters worse, he's broken his former worst enemy out of prison to keep Gryphon House busy: Pigman!

Whose side will Svetlana take? What will she do when she discovers the truth about herself? Will she become fulfill her destiny and become an instrument of war or will she blaze her own trail and become an instrument of peace?


F.U.B.A.R. IV: Gods Walk among Us

After several years of peace thanks to Gryphon House, a new threat has arrived: corporate greed. Multi-billionaire Jonathan Rowe and his technical partner Elliott Yamin want power, and Gryphon House has a power they can't access. And if they can't have it, they'll destroy it. And if they can't destroy it, Pigman will...


F.U.B.A.R. V: The Last Superhero

Oblivion returns to Earth in the 38th century and finds it irreparably changed. Three women claiming to be members of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse anticipated his arrival and want to recruit him as their fourth and final member, hopefully bringing to a close their long conquest of the Earth.

It is up to Oblivion to rebuild Gryphon's time machine, finally correct history, and stop all of this madness once and for all.


Please check back to find out what's happening with the books and when they'll be available for purchase!